We’re Expecting!

18922044_10155968772229578_6186470763747175719_n.jpg

06.07.2017

Now that Justin and I have made it public knowledge that we are expecting (I know, holy shit right), I am so excited to be able to share my own personal experiences with being pregnant (thus far). Here are some of the pregnancy expectations vs realities that I’ve come across.

Before I got pregnant myself, I had always heard women talking about all of these wonderful emotional and physical changes that their bodies were going through. I still remember thinking to myself, ‘man, I can’t wait for that. It must feel so good – so empowering’. Now, obviously growing a tiny human in your uterus is no walk in the park. But until now, myself being pregnant, I had never even imagined how much hard work this would actually be.

First, I’ve never been one for naps – but holy Hannah let me tell you, they have proven to be an absolute God sent. I am also going to assume that these heavenly naps are the sole reason I can still work, maintain a social life and somehow manage to run my daily five km. That being said, I am only 20 weeks pregnant and have heard that the exhaustion will only get worse.

Aside from napping, I’ve found that having (and sticking to) a daily routine helps subside the exhaustion greatly. For me, this first means waking up and having a nutritious breakfast. Normally this would include a cup of yogurt with fresh blueberries and raspberries mixed in, accompanied by my favorite cup of Joe. Note, pregnant woman are allowed up to 200mg of caffeine per day. Once my work day is done, it is mandatory that I run at least a minimum of 2.5 miles; remember, it’s important not to push yourself too hard when you’re pregnant. After all you have a little bean to think about too.

It is often said that pregnant women get that glow about them. You know, the glow that lightens your skin, brightens your eyes and makes your hair and nails grow at super speed. Again, this is not exactly something I’ve found to be true. Seemingly, my skin is dry, my hair is oily and I’m breaking out like a pubescent 14 year old. Confidence boosting? Not exactly. Lucky for me I’ve got amazing people in my life who can still make me feel beautiful, even when I don’t see it myself.

Now, I’m sure you’ve all heard the stories. The stories about ‘how your motherly instinct will immediately kick in’ once you feel pregnant; like your body is some sort of super tool and being a mother is totally instinctual and no actual research is required to get you into the swing of things. Well let me tell you, if you are anything like me and this is your baby # 1, thinking this way will prove to be complete and utter bullshit. Here’s how I know;

My boyfriend and I made a trip out to Baby’s R US to look at all of their adorable baby belongings (keep in mind we had only known there’s a baby on board for about one month at this time). After pacing around the store for quite some time, we came across our must-have stroller – one that we have since ordered online. So, here we are pushing this stroller around the store and attempting to figure out all of its nifty specs. Trying to fold and unfold it, pull out the car seat and put it back together – well, let me tell you; I have never laughed so hard. The impossibility of maneuvering this thing was just beyond hysterical. Justin, my boyfriend, actually swore that the silly thing was put together using witchcraft. Joking of course, but actually. It was in this moment that I knew; we had absolutely no idea what we are doing. Like, none and it felt great.

The reality of it is, pregnancy is hard. However, with having someone as wonderful as Justin in my life, I know that regardless of what comes our way we can do this and that we can do it great. I’m sure there will be a few hiccups along the way and certainly a few (hundred) screw ups, but I am confident in saying there is not one person that I would rather have and raise a child with. This man is my person, my best friend. I have the utmost confidence that not only will he keep me grounded, but he will be the most amazing father.

One thought on “We’re Expecting!

Leave a Reply

